About faculty

The Faculty of Philosophy began its activity since 2014 by admitting master’s students. The areas of concentration in this faculty are studies of Islamic Theology and Philosophy, and Contemporary Philosophy. The main purpose of founding this faculty is to create a link between the traditions of Islamic Philosophy, and new philosophical studies and approaches. Islamic Theology and Philosophy, and Contemporary Philosophy including Philosophy of Religion and Ethics are taught and researched in this faculty in a specialized manner. Graduates of this faculty perform studies in the form of research papers and theses that will serve as a great step forward in presenting new perspectives on Islamic Theology and Philosophy. In addition to teaching the courses offered in the fields of Islamic Theology and Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, and Ethics as the faculty members or visiting professors, graduates of this faculty will be able to conduct researches in the mentioned fields.

This faculty currently admits in the field of “Islamic Theology and Philosophy” in PhD degree, “Islamic Theology and Philosophy”, “Philosophy of Religion”, and “Ethics with the concentration of Moral Philosophy” in the master’s degree. In the faculty of philosophy, courses are taught in Persian, Arabic and English. Promotional scientific meetings are scheduled and held regularly on topics related to Islamic Theology and Philosophy, and Philosophy of Religion, and Ethics. Philosophy student association is one of the active associations in the faculty which holds numerous scientific meetings and lectures sessions.

In this faculty the courses of the Islamic Theology and Philosophy are offered both online and in-campus but all other courses and degrees are provided only in-campus. Regarding the research-only PhD programs, the students are admitted after their proposals are reviewed and accepted. Then, they work on their thesis under the supervision of their advisers. This stage can be performed on campus or remotely depending on the project and at the discretion of the adviser.

The admission process is different with respect to international applicants and applicants with an Iranian citizenship. All of the applicants with an Iranian citizenship are admitted through an entrance exam. However, international applicants take no entrance exam, and instead, are required to submit their documentations to apply for their field of interest. The MA and PhD applications including the applicants’ CV, level of interest, etc are reviewed by the faculty members of each field. If admitted, the applicant will proceed to registration by submitting the required documentations and start their desired program.

The Faculty of Philosophy is composed of 2 departments: Islamic Theology and Philosophy, and Contemporary Philosophy. The programs offered in each department are as follows: the department of “Islamic Theology and Philosophy” offers a program named after the title of the department in Master’s degree and PhD level. The department of “Contemporary Philosophy” offers two programs of “Philosophy of Religion” and “Ethics with a concentration on Moral Philosophy” in Master’s degree. In the future the department of “Religion and the Cognitive Sciences” is aimed to be founded which offers fields related to Cognitive Sciences and the Philosophy of Mind. The head of the department of the Islamic Theology and Philosophy is Dr. Mohammad Keyvanfar and the head of the department of the Contemporary Philosophy is Dr. Vahid Sohrabifar.

Academic Staff